

Republic of the Philippines Department of Labor and Employment BFO Building, Ortigas Avenue cor. EDSA, Mandaluyong City 1501

Website: www.poea.gov.ph E-mail: info@poea.gov.ph

Hotlines: 722-1144, 722-1155



GOOD NEWS/NEWS RELEASE 31 May 2018

Labor Secretary Silvestre H. Bello III will lead government officials and the Board of Trustees of Bagong Bayani Foundation, Inc. in conferring twelve (12) overseas Filipino workers (OFWs) with Bagong Bayani Awards for their outstanding accomplishments and exemplary deeds and services.

In time for Migrant Workers' Day, the new set of Bagong Bayani awardees will be honored on June 7, 2018 at the awards ceremonies to be held at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC), CCP Complex in Pasay City.

The Bagong Bayani Awards (BBA) is a worldwide search for the country's outstanding and exemplary Overseas Filipino Workers (OFWs). The BBA seeks to recognize and pay tribute to OFWs for their significant efforts in fostering goodwill among peoples of the world, enhancing and promoting the image of the Filipino as a competent, responsible and dignified worker, and for greatly contributing to the socio-economic development of their communities and the country as a whole.

Bagong Bayani Foundation, Inc., the Award's prime mover has selected this year's awardees from 51 OFW nominees from various jobsites all over the world.

The Awards are given in five categories: The Bagong Bayani Award for Outstanding Employee; Bagong Bayani Award for Community and Social Service; Bagong Bayani Award for Culture and the Arts; Capt. Gregorio S. Oca Achievement Award, and Blas F. Ople Award para sa Natatanging Bagong Bayani.

For Outstanding Employee category, the awardees are: 1) Mario Aguilar Balboa, Product Development Manager in Saudi Arabia: 2) Jimmy Acevedo Carpon, Jr., Head Nurse in Germany; 3) Dr. Erwin Martinez Faller, Senior Lecturer in Malaysia; 4) Rolando M. Nicolas, Senior Electrical Engineer in Saudi Arabia; 5) Jethroefel Esposo Ramboyong, Telecommunications Engineer in United Arab Emirates; and 6) Genevieve Regato Soliven, a Household Service Worker in Malaysia.

Recipients of the Bagong Bayani Award for Community and Social Service are 1) Capt. Augusto Pesito Buenaventura, a Master Mariner; 2) Dennis Nama Rata, Aluminum Welder in Kuwait; and 3) Florante Marmolejo Catanus, Finance and Payroll Officer in Kuwait.

Ronaldo Enriquez Molina, Supervisor Marketing Specialist in Saudi Arabia is the sole awardee for Culture and the Arts category and will be bestowed the *Blas F. Ople Award para sa "Natatanging Bagong Bayani"*.

Eduardo Ungson Manese, Chairman of the Board of Magsaysay, Inc and Affiliates will receive the Capt. Gregorio S. Oca Award.

A Special Recognition Award will be posthumously conferred to Eduardo Pingol Nicdao+, Managing Director of New Cabalen Chain of Restaurants in Saudi Arabia.

/END